Poetry

destroy

If you’re going to break my heart
do it whole-heartedly
unapologetically
step on every last piece of me

don’t leave me hanging
on thoughts of possibility
thoughts of you with me
like we used to be

because I will cling on
to every last memory
my heart, an accessory
always on my sleeve

spare the ambiguity
and let me know
I wasn’t the one to snatch your soul
being with me was never your goal
you don’t need to say it, I overlooked the signs you’ve shown

I need you to say it
I give you full permission
tell me my future didn’t match your vision
why didn’t I listen to my intuition?

but once I let go
just know that’s the last of me I’m giving

Standard

Leave a Reply

